Satisfactory Academic Progress

To be eligible for Federal Student Aid, a student must maintain Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP). SAP refers to specific standards defined by the federal government pertaining to financial aid awarded to students under Title IV of the Federal Code. Pell Grants, other government scholarships, and student loans administered by the U.S. Department of Education (ED) are all subject to SAP. International Baptist College and Seminary (IBCS) is required to establish, report, and apply these SAP standards for all students receiving Title IV Federal Financial Aid.

In order to be eligible for federal financial aid, a student must maintain three (3) SAP standards. These standards are:

1. The GPA (Qualitative) Standard
2. The Pace of Progress (Quantitative) Standard
3. The Maximum Time Frame (Degree Completion) Standard

Failure to fulfill any one of the above standards will result in the student’s becoming ineligible for federal financial aid.

SAP Status

There are four (4) designations used to describe a student’s SAP status. These designations are:

  1. SAP/FA Compliant
  2. SAP/FA Warning
  3. SAP/FA Suspension
  4. SAP/FA Probation